Eilu Devarim: These Are The Words

This prayer is called “Eilu/Elu Devarim” (These are the Words), sometimes called “the Rabbinical Ten Commandments.” It’s an ancient prayer from the Talmud that remains a pivotal part of Jewish morning prayer liturgy today. The deeds listed are considered to be mitzvot (obligations) beyond measure.

I wrote my own interpretation:

These are the practices that enrich life immeasurably:

To honor good stewards, care-givers and care-takers.
To perform random and deliberate acts of kindness.
To pursue continual learning and growth.
To be a welcoming presence in my community and house of worship.
To be a compassionate presence for those who are suffering.
To support and rejoice in happy and meaningful moments.
To be a comforting presence for those who are grieving life losses.
To pray from my heart, in any way that is most meaningful for me.
To create safe spaces for myself and others.
To feed my soul, nourish my spirit and expand my consciousness.

Contemporary Rabbi Evan Moffic, author of The Happiness Prayer, also wrote his own Eilu Devarim interpretation.

You can hear and learn the traditional Eilu Devarim prayer recited in Hebrew via the sound file at Temple Solel.

4 thoughts on “Eilu Devarim: These Are The Words

    1. The Wild Pomegranate (Abi)

      No, not my book, but I wrote the Eilu Devarim interpretation in the middle of the post under “These are the practices that enrich life immeasurably:”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in:

WordPress.com Logo

You are commenting using your WordPress.com account. Log Out /  Change )

Google photo

You are commenting using your Google account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )

Connecting to %s